Curry Roasted Chickpeas


I can’t find the original site that I found this on, but this recipe is more or less what I used to make them.

If you don’t want to click through, the recipe is below.

I usually just use 2 cans of Low Sodium Chickpeas, and I season each can slightly differently.  I just experimented with different things like chili and lime, curry and coriander, etc. But if you don’t know where to start, the recipe is a good place to begin.  The first batch I made were a little soft.  My second attempt I cooked for a tad longer (a little over an hour) and I was sure to stir them around a bit more often (about every 15 mins). If you don’t have something the recipe calls for, I wouldn’t worry, they’ll be just as good without some of the ingredients, though I do recommend trying some lemon/lime juice!

If you’re like me, and don’t like to look at a recipe religiously for amounts.  I’d say just pour the chickpeas into a bowl drirzzel EVOO and season up until there is a nice coat of seasoning on them, splash with some lemon/lime juice if you have it.  Pop ’em in the oven for about an hour at 425°F. They’ll be good to go 🙂 (keep an eye on them – I’ve read comments on this recipe that claim these can burn, I haven’t experienced it, but its good to keep an eye out).

DELICIOUS, super easy snack.  I put them in ziplock baggies and take them to work as a breakfast/snack.  They’re a little messy, so I wouldn’t really consider them a finger food like the site suggests.  I tend to season heavily, so the spices cover my fingers when I eat them.

Roasted Curried Chickpeas with Rosemary and Thyme
Makes about 3 1/2 cups

2 15-ounce cans chickpeas, rinsed, drained and dried well
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons paprika
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon curry powder
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 tablespoon freshly-grated lemon zest
1 teaspoon fresh rosemary, chopped
1 teaspoon fresh thyme, chopped

Preheat the oven to 425°F.

Pour well-dried chickpeas onto a rimmed baking sheet and roast for 10 minutes. Remove pan from oven and use a spatula to loosen up any chickpeas that are sticking to the bottom of the pan. Roast for another 10 minutes, or until chickpeas begin to crisp up. To test for readiness: don’t rely on a change of color. When the chickpeas turn brown they’ve become burned. Instead, check with the press of a finger: you want them to be slightly crisp on the outside but still soft on the inside.

While the chickpeas are roasting, combine the olive oil, paprika, cumin, curry powder, salt, lemon zest, rosemary and thyme in a medium mixing bowl. Transfer the roasted chickpeas to the bowl and carefully toss them in the mixture until well coated. Return to the baking sheet and roast another 4-5 minutes. Once out of the oven, allow them to cool for 2-3 minutes; serve warm.

 

 

 

 

