The No-Waste Quinoa Veggie Pattie with a Greek Yogurt Lime & Dill dipping Sauce

Originally I was going to make a quinoa salad with an assortment of random veggies, but decided that sounded boring a day after I had purchased all the ingredients…

I’m leaving for Dallas in 2 days, and if I don’t utilize these veggies somehow, they’ll all spoil.  So I decided to…. experiment.

Image

To my pleasant surprise… it worked out quite well.

******My ingredients are…. extreme estimates as I wasn’t measuring anything… sorry!  But honestly I don’t think it really matters how much of anything you use… I’m considering this the “no waste” pattie – because it can utilize pretty much anything you have in your fridge/cupboard that you don’t want to waste.  So go ahead.. toss it in… I used a turnip for gods sake, so don’t be afraid of anything!!******

Ingredients

  • 1 turnip
  • 1 carrott
  • 1 bell pepper (I used green, they’ve been the cheapest – hence the green color of the patties)
  • half a cup of green onions
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 can garbanzo beans rinsed and drained
  • ~1.5 cups cooked quinoa
  • 2 Eggs
  • Cornstartch – whatever seems necessary to thicken slightly (will vary based on your ingredients)… I would guess…. 2 ~ 3 tbsp? I sprinkled a nice coat on top.
  • Oil
  • Spices – whatever your preference, I used salt, pepper, tarragon, and cumin… I don’t know why, I just throw stuff in that sounds good.

Directions

  1. Wash and roughly chop your veggies.  Toss in food processor along with can of rinsed and drained garbanzo beans, and 2 eggs.  Pulse until its blended and combined, but don’t over processes it, or it will thin out and be harder to work with.
  2. In a large bowl throw in everything from the food processor, then add your cooked quinoa, spices and cornstartch.  Mix.
  3. Heat Oil over a large skillet on medium-high heat, enough to coat the pan generously.
  4. THIS STEP, is very important… I royally f*cked up my first batch by making the patties TOO large, and I couldn’t flip them with out destroying them so my first batch is a pile of tastey rubble…..
    •Scoop SMALL spoonfuls carefully onto the hot oil and flatten slightly with a spatula, I’m talking like 2in diameter patties.
  5. Cover and let cook for about 4 – 5 mins, reducing heat to about a medium sizzle.
  6. Check that they seem firm enough to flip, scoop ’em up with a spatula and cook the other side for about the same amount of time, covered. Repeat this step, adding more oil as necessary for more batches (I had to do about 3 with a large skillet).
  7. Remove, let cool slightly, and serve with your delicious dipping sauce, or throw it over a salad, or wrapped in lettuce or whatever you prefer.

Optional Dipping Sauce

  • Greek Yogurt Plain
  • Lime
  • Dill

Directions

  • In a small bowl combine about half a cup of yogurt, .5 ~ 1 tbsp of Lime Juice, and as much dill as your palate desires… (I use about a tbsp or so)

This dipping sauce goes really well with baked Sweet Potatoes as a side!

