Spicy Tuna-Less Hand Roll (high protein)

Incase it isn’t obvious enough, this is vegetarian.

I had the sudden urge to make my own sushi, but I have few of the means.  So I decided before investing in a sushi roller, knife, etc… I’d start with a hand roll (which wasn’t much easier come to find out). I was also brainstorming how to make vegetarian sushi a little more hearty and protein dense.  I didn’t want JUST veggies…… so here it goes:

Ingredients (for about 2 or 3 servings + a bit extra mixture)

  • 1 Egg (yolk only)
  • Apple Cider Vinegar – about a tbsp or two
  • 1 Lemon
  • Mustard Powder (or Dijon Mustard would work – or none if u don’t like it, I don’t thing this changes much)
  • Water (to reduce thickness of mixture as needed)
  • Oil ( I used EVOO) about a tbsp
  • Green Onions about 4
  • 1 can Garbanzo Beans
  • Siracha
  • Wasabi Powder
  • 1 cup cooked rice (I used short grain brown – i’ve read short grains are best for sushi making)
  • 2 sheets Nori Paper

DIRECTIONS FOR TUNA-LESS MIXTURE

  1. For the Tuna-Less Mixture, you will need a blender.  Start by cracking an egg and separating out just the yoke (I saved the white for later, maybe for a quick egg drop soup serving). Throw yoke in blender.  Add the Juice of 1 Lemon, a dash of Apple Cider Vinegar and give it a little blend.  Starting adding oil until desired amount.  I added about a tbsp or two slowly. This is basically a Natural Mayo Recipe simplified… you can probably just use a dollop of Mayo if you prefer.  But this is a very easy way to control the ingredients and avoid soybean oil and preservatives (plus you only need a tiny bit).
  2.  Add about a 1/2 tsp of Mustard Powder, the Garbanzo Beans, and a little water as needed (this paste will be too thick without water, but add slowly so you don’t end up making it too thin).  When you’re close to your desired consistency, chop the green onions and add them.  Set your blender to mix and let it gently mix in to the mixture.  Slowly begin adding your Siracha until you reach desired spiciness!

DIRECTIONS FOR RICE

  1. Place your cooled cooked rice into a bowl (avoid metal bowls, preferably wood, ceramic or glass) with a wooden spoon.
  2. Add about a 1/2 a tbsp of Apple Cider Vinegar and sprinkle a small coat of Wasabi Powder onto the Rice (about a tsp or 2).  Gently blend.

ASSEMBLY

  1. I’m not sure why I’m even giving you this step, because mine sucked, so have at it however you want really….
  2. But… incase you’re lost without me… Place the rice on the Nori Paper.  I placed it in the bottom left area, then place your tuna mixture on top. I used a little under half a cup of rice and a few spoonfulls of the mixture until it was at a desired full-ness.  Then I attempted to wrap it up, how I’ve seen at sushi restaurants… but as you can see, it looks more like a Sushi-Burrito…..
  3. Whatever, Enjoy!
  4. Repeat this process as necessary to deplete your mixture, this amount will make about 2 or 3 Hand Rolls pretty full.  It may yield extra Tuna Mixture as well, but I could honestly eat it plain anyway.
  5. Image

Okay: Attempt two was better…. 😉

 

