Coconut Hot & Sour Soup

Image

I don’t really know what to call this, I found this Coconut Hot & Sour soup recipe, and kind of took off from there.  It’s about 80% different though.. so I don’t really know if its fair to give it the same name.  But until I come up with something better, it shall remain…

*I extra didn’t measure anything this time, so I’m giving rough estimates as usual… but they’re EXTRA rough this time..

Ingredients

  • 1 can Coconut Milk (I used full fat, but you could probably get by with light)
  • ~1.5 cups veggie broth
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 1 cup cooked rice (I used brown short grain)
  • Juice of 1 Lemon
  • 2 small Jalapeno’s seeded and de-ribbed and chopped
  • Siracha
  • 1 tbsp Soy Sauce (I used Tamari Low Sodium – Gluten Free)
  • 1 carton of mushrooms chopped
  • 3 baby bok choys
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • EVOO (olive oil)
  • SPICES: I used Mustard, Wasabi and Ginger Powder… but you can modify these with similar results if you don’t have these lying around. Fresh Ginger would also be tastey)
  • Optional Ingredient: Apple Cider Vinegar & Egg White

Directions

  1. In a large pot, heat olive oil over medium heat.  Throw in garlic, while you Sauté the garlic, chop green onions and add to pot.  Cook for about 2 minutes.
  2. Add about 1.5 cups veggie broth and water, bring to a boil.  Chop and add mushrooms, jalapeno, soy sauce, lemon juice, Siracha (this adds kick, so its up to you how much, I used a fair amount – about a tbsp or so… mine was fairly spicey) and cook for about 5 minutes covered.
  3. Add the can of coconut milk and your spices (Mustard, Ginger, Wasabi Powder). Once mixed, reduce the heat and simmer for a few more minutes letting flavors mix.
  4. If you’re opting to use an egg white, begin quickly stirring your soup and adding the egg slowly (as you would for an egg drop soup).  I just happened to have a leftover egg white, so I threw it in for extra protein. But not necessary.
  5. Add your Bok Choy and cook until tender.  I added my Bok Choy immediately after the mushrooms, and it got a little dark and seemed like it’d be better if it didn’t cook as long, but I liked giving the soup some time to simmer the flavors together.

Optional Rice Prep

**I cooked 2 cups of rice because I needed some for my Vegetarian Sushi to bring for Lunch at work, so I prepped all my rice the same way… totally not necessary, but I think it may give it an extra kick of flavor!**

  1. In a glass/ceramic/wood bowl, mix 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar and a 1 tsp of Wasabi Powder into the rice.

Finally: Just pour desired amount of soup mixture over rice and serve!

