Chilled Beet Soup

Let me start of by saying a few things:

  1. This was an experiment – that went…. meh
  2. Beets stain… a lot… See exhibit A)
  3. Image
  4. I made more than I would’ve liked…. it was too thick, so I needed to add more ingredients to thin it out… I probably would’ve changed a few things.  I’ll note them as I go along.
  5. I don’t recommend this recipe… 😦 I hated it – but I don’t know if that is due to the recipe or my lack of beet enjoyment.

Ingredients

  • 3 beets
  • 3 cups veggie broth
  • 3 cups water
  • half a tsp of Caraway Seeds
  • tsp of dill
  • tbls of Apple Cider Vinegar (in the future.. I would omit this – but I’m giving you the recipe i ACTUALLY did)
  • 1 Green Apple
  • 1/2 tsp minced ginger
  • 1/4 of an onion chopped
  • 1 clove garlic chopped
  • Juice of 1 Lemon
  • Sweetner (I use liquid stevia)
  • Coconut Milk (full or light fat)

Directions

  1. Wash beets and remove the stalks.  Wrap them in foil and bake on 400 for about 40 mins.
  2. While your beets are roasting, chop the onion, ginger and garlic. Remove your beets, to let cool.  Meanwhile, heat up oil in a large pot.  Saute onions, garlic and ginger on low while you peel the beats. I found this easiest to do with a little pairing knife.  I got under the skin a bit then it peeled off easily. Careful they stain like crazy.
  3. Chop the beets into smaller cubes, then add to pot. Chop apple and add to pot. Pour in veggie broth, sweetner and spices, cover and boil for about 10 minutes.
  4. Take the chunks out and transfer to a food processor or blender.  Return mixture into the pot.  Mine was very thick still, and… not a pleasant texture.  I tasted it… and it was pretty rich, so I decided to just add water until I thinned it out… which was about 3 cups.
  5. Add half a can of coconut milk and sitr.  Simmer for a few minutes to let flavors mingle.
  6. Chill soup for serving, top with more coconut milk if desired.

**I will explain some decisions: So before I added the coconut milk I tasted the soup.. it seemed to be struggling to be either sweet or sour, but wasn’t really either.  This made me think maybe leaving out the vinegar, and maybe the lemon would’ve been a better idea, possibly omiting the onions and the garlic. It just tastes like it was almost a sweet soup, but I fucked it up. I also intended this to be a hot soup, but decided it wasn’t pleasant since it was on the sweeter side.  This makes a pretty large amount.  About 4 servings I’d say.

Looked cool at least.

Image

