Cuban Black Bean Soup

I started with this recipe from Forks over Knives. I modified it as you’ll notice. You’ll need a large skillet or medium pot and a blender. This recipe makes less than I usually make.  Only about 2 generous servings. (Or maybe I was just really hungry). This is a quick recipe… I’d say 15 – 30 mins.

Ingredients: 

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 small green bell pepper chopped (or half of a large one)
  • 2 large roma tomatoes chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder (or more if you so desire)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin**
  • ½ – 1 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 15 ounce can black beans, drained
  • 1 ½ cup vegetable broth
  • 1 lime juiced
  • 1 tablespoon fresh cilantro + more for garnish, chopped
  • OPTIONAL (but recommended)
  • 1 stock celery, chopped***
  • 1–2 green onions, sliced (garnish)
  • 1 corn tortilla (to make crispy tortilla garnish)
  • Hot Sauce (I used cholula)
  • non vegan option: Goat Cheese – it isn’t pictured, but my god it’s amazing and highly recommended.  I had some lying around, but it isn’t necessary.

** I didn’t actually use Cumin in the recipe, I didn’t realize I was totally out.  But I can taste that it would be great in it.  But note that it is still great without it.
***I had celery lying around, so I threw it in, but not needed.

Directions

  1. In your skillet/pot heat a thin layer of Vegetable Broth to medium heat.  Sauté your chopped onion and garlic until fragrant (2 – 3 mins).
  2. Add your chopped roma tomatoes, bell pepper, celery stock, black beans, spices (cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne), cilantro, hot sauce and vegetable broth.  Bring to a boil.
  3. Once boiling, remove from heat, stir in lime juice.  Add about 1/2 the mixture into a blender and puree.  Return the mixture to the pot.
  4. Bring to a simmer, and let cook for about 10 minutes.
  5. If you want to use the tortilla, place it in the oven on 350 until crispy (about 5 – 10 minutes).
  6. When finished, spoon into bowl and garnish with fresh chopped green onions, goat cheese crumbles, fresh cilantro, dash of extra hot sauce, and pieces of crispy tortilla.
  7. Serve!

Image

