Spicy Sour Soup (Vegan and Gluten Free)

I made an altered version of my previous recipe Coconut Hot & Sour Soup.  I have a bit of a cold, so I wanted something that would open up my sinuses a bit, and sooth my sore throat. This version is less thick, spicier and more sour.  It also has a new cast of veggies. Amongst them is the sprouted mung bean.  If you’re unfamiliar, read the amazing health benefits here.  Don’t be afraid of them if you haven’t had them, they’re mainly a host to flavor, and they mimic noodles in texture. I live by a nice Korean Market, which is where I picked mine up – I’m not sure how available they would be at a regular grocery store.  But any sprouted bean would be a great addition!

Disclaimer – I’m not adding designated amounts of the “spicy” element, because that is an extremely personal choice in terms of how much one can handle.  But if you want this soup to really kick open your senses, go generous! The coconut milk soothes away some burn.

Ingredients

  • 1 can Coconut Milk (I used full fat, but you could probably get by with light)
  • ~2 cups veggie broth*
  • ~1.5 cups water*
  • 1 cup cooked rice (I used brown short grain)
  • Juice of 1 Large Lemon
  • 2 small (or 1 large) Jalapeno’s seeded and de-ribbed and chopped
  • About 10 – 15 seeds from the Jalapeno
  • Siracha
  • 1 tbsp Gluten Free Soy Sauce (I used Tamari)
  • 1 cup Sprouted Mung Beans (or other sprout)
  • 3 baby bok choys
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • EVOO (olive oil)
  • 1 tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 – 2 tsp Ginger Powder
  • Mustard Powder (this adds heat – so add at your discretion)

*The liquids are “~” estimates because I had a small tupperware frozen of veggie broth, so I’m not positive how much it was… But I’m guessing my estimates are close.  These will simply impact how thick your soup is, so don’t fret! Add more if you find your soup too thick.  I also find that certain brands of coconut milk are thicker/thinner.. so use your best judgement based on that.

Directions

  1. In a large pot, heat a thin layer of olive oil over medium heat.  Sauté the garlic, green onions.  As you remove the seeds from your Jalapeno, throw a grip in to add some heat – I added about 10 or 15. Add your chopped Jalapeno.  Cook for about 4 minutes – careful to not let the garlic burn.
  2. Add can of coconut milk and slowly add your broth & water until you reach a desired thickness. Stir and Bring to a boil.  Add Mung Bean Sprouts, reduce to a steady simmer. Add soy sauce, lemon juice, vinegar, Siracha (this adds kick, so its up to you how much, I used a fair amount, I wanted to kick open my sinuses), and spices (Mustard and Ginger). Let this simmer for about 10 minutes.
  3. Add your Bok Choy last so you do not overcook it, and cook until tender.
  4. Serve over a bit of rice, get ready for the sour spiciness to cleanse your sinuses!!

Spicy Sour Soup

