Chocolate Superfood Quickshake! Gluten Free, Vegan (potentially raw)

Despite how great healthy eating makes me feel overall… I can’t help but notice from time to time, that I feel dizzy, nauseous, headaches, anxiety, faint, shakey….sounds like I’m listing side affects to a medication -_- …

Of course not everyday.. but I notice when I’m eating Vegan or Raw for a few meals in a row, it feels like my blood sugar noticeably drops.  It’s important to keep a balanced diet, even if you’re eating healthy, it’s easy to make mistakes.

I don’t believe in eating a lot of fruit for dietary reasons… (see here for an example why) so based on a suggestion from a friend/nutritionist I decided to turn to Raw Honey and Cacao. (If he had it his way, I would be consuming cacao powder without nuts, but I’m not as hardcore as him).

Ingredients

  • 1 –  2 cups of Cashews (or other nut of your choice)
  • 3 + cups of water
  • Medjool Date (optional, adds extra sweetness)
  • Raw Honey to taste I used about a tablespoon or two.
  • about 2 tablespoons of Raw Chocolate Cacao Powder
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract (or a vanilla bean to keep it raw)

Directions

  1. If you are patient and have the time, soak your cashews… but I didn’t.
  2. Place cashews in blender with about 2 cups of water. Liquify.
  3. Chop up a medjool date, add some honey, vanilla extract, and the Cacao Powder. Blend.
  4. Do a little taste test.  If its powerful, water down as far as you’d like to yield as large a batch as possible.  Or add a little more cacao, or honey, or other sweetener to reach the desired taste.
  5. Blend until liquified.

I do not strain my nutmilk so its a bit thick. I water it down a tad to make it last a little longer, I add as I go based on the taste, so its hard for me to give a hard and fast measurement.  Just keep tasting it, before you add to much of anything.

It’s not super sweet, so don’t go in expecting that, it tastes almost like a sugar free chocolate supplement mixed in half water half milk.. it’s plenty tastey for me, but I don’t really have a sweet tooth.

This made multiple servings.  I plan to use it as a booster when I’m feeling a little low, as opposed to a snack or treat… but use it however you like!

Image

Raw chocolate contains many important vitamins and minerals including:4

  • Magnesium, and other essential minerals including calcium, sulfur, zinc, iron, copper, potassium, and manganese
  • Polyphenols called flavonoids, with antioxidant properties
  • Vitamins: B1, B2, B3, B5, B9, E
  • Essential heart-healthy fat: oleic acid a monounsaturated fat
  • Protein
  • Fiber

Read more about it here

