Buffalo Cauliflower (Vegan Sub for Hot Wings)

I used this recipe.  But changed it ever so slightly.  Because I have the motto: “If it’s not broken, FIX IT ANYWAY”

For the batter:

  • 1/2 c rice flour (I managed to find BROWN rice flour….)
  • 1/4 c Apple Cider Vinegar (I love the vinegary tastey of hot wings, so I figured…WHY NOT)
  • 1/4 c water
  • Pinch of salt
  • Optional: I added some chili powder and cumin to the coating, I felt like it would need more flavor.

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 450.
  2. Break apart a head of cauliflower into florets and coat evenly with batter. I recommend small pieces of Cauli, I found the texture a little displeasing on larger chunks….
  3. Toss Cauli Florets with Batter, until its coated evenly.
  4. Place on greased cookie sheet (or on parchment) and bake for 15 minutes. Batter will harden like a crust.

Glaze:

  • 1/4 c hot sauce (I used cholula – which is expensive… but I love it)
  • 1/4 c oil

Directions for glazing:

  1. Mix ingredients well. Brush onto cauliflower. Put back in the oven for 5 minutes to crisp up again. I broiled for a couple minutes towards the end to really crisp them up.  I also sprinkled a bit of chili over the top at this step.

Optional:

A dip: something creamy would’ve been really good, like a health ranch sub with greek yogurt perhaps? I think it needed something to cut through it.  It definitely feels heavy and greasy (though it kinda is… its def a very very much healthier version of its counterpart, hot wings).

My only issue: Odd texture not my fave, but good!

BuffaloCauli

