Salt and Vinegar Chip Substitution = Zucchini! Gluten Free, Vegan

This recipe is extremely easy, but there is one catch: You need a dehydrator. The original recipe I found gives a baking method, but I haven’t tried it, and this would jeopardize all the nutrients and goodness of this recipe.  But if you’re hard up, check it out here.

Ingredients

  • 1 + zucchini’s (depends on your dehydrator size, and the size of the zucchinis, I use a 4 tray nesco, and one LARGE zucchini filled up mine. However I retried this recipe with a thicker cut, and I could fit 2 average Zucchini’s)
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Salt
  • EVOO

Directions

  1. With a Mandolin, cut the zucchinis into thin circles.  I did less than 1/8 of an inch the first time, this will give a very thin very crisp chip, which I liked.  I’m currently dehydrating a 1/8in chip to see how that turns out (I’ll update when they’re done tomorrow).
  2. Throw the slices into a larger bowl, drizzle with EVOO, put about a half cup of Vinegar (or more depending on how many your dehydrating) and a few pinches of salt, toss or mix with hands.
  3. Line dehydrator, not overlapping the slices.
  4. Dehydrate at 135 for about 8 – 12 hours. (The original recipe I used calls to flip EACH one by hand….I did not do this, they turned out just fine)

This was by far the closest I’ve ever been to emulating a Salt and Vinegar Chip.  They were a big hit in my office. Even among those who were skeptics.

I’m also trying a little but of cumin, cayenne and nutritional yeast to see if I can make a bbq-y chip, Also attempting completely plain…. will update tomorrow.

Here are the >1/8in.

SaltVinZucchini

