Super Easy Recipe! Honey Mustard Lentil Soup, Vegan* & Gluten Free

*I recognize some Vegans don’t consider Honey as Vegan. Don’t mean to offend anyone. 

This recipe is SUPER easy.  I was inspired by a recipe for Honey Baked Lentils over Rice, but didn’t feel like baking or using rice.  I’ve been really trying to cut back lately, so I am trying to minimize and utilize what I have as much as possible. I made a lot of veggie broth this weekend, so I wanted to use that.

The result:

Ingredients (for 2 servings)

  • 1 cup Cooked Lentils
  • 4 – 5 cups veggie broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 – 2 T of Raw Honey
  • Mustard Powder (amount depends on desired heat)
  • 1/2 T of Soy Sauce (Tamari)
  • Half an Onion Chopped
  • Salt to Taste

Directions

  1. Cook your lentils (About 1 : 3 ration lentils : water for about 20 minutes simmering). After your lentils have simmered for about 20 minutes, add the rest of the veggie broth, water and onion and simmer for another 20 minutes.
  2. Add Honey, Mustard Powder, Soy Sauce and Salt to taste, simmer for about 5 minutes more.
  3. Enjoy!

*I used about 2 or 3 T of Mustard Powder.  It was honestly burning my sinuses off, so be careful… haha  taste a good spoonful or 2 before you add more.  Mustard is not an initial spice, its an afterburn.  Which didn’t hit me until it was a few spoonfuls in.. haha still delicious though.

HoneyMustardLentilSoup

