Homemade Hot Sauce (Similar to Cholula)

Check out the comments section of this post, people have some great recommendations 🙂

**One final update!**

I’ve noticed the hot sauce gets tastier with age.  If you can, let it chill for a few days before use.  Keep in mind this will not be thick like normal hot sauce.  Most of them use thickeners.

**UPDATE 2** (Final Recipe)

I think this is the closest I will get to actual cholula.  It is not identical, but satisfies the craving for Cholula, and improves on it by adding heat.  This recipe has updated measurements and an updated Vinegar.  (I love apple cider vinegar in it, but it is definitely further from cholula).

New recipe amounts:

Ingredients

  • 1 cup distilled white vinegar
  • 2+ T of Dried Pequin Peppers (Ground)
  • 4 Dried Arbol peppers (seeds removed)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 t Garlic Powder
  • 1 T Onion Powder
  • Salt to Taste

Blend all ingredients, and taste, add more heat as desired.  A friend taste tested this batch for me this weekend and claimed “I like it better than cholula!” 

*From here, I will probably move on to new types of hot sauces, as this one feels like a perfect combo for what I was trying to achieve.*

**UPDATE**

From my research I’ve gathered most hot sauces use a white distilled vinegar, so if you want it truer to taste, use that. I only use apple cider.

So Cholula hot sauce has got to be my favorite hot sauce of all time.  However, it’s very expensive, and I prefer to know exactly what I’m putting in my body! I go through it like water when I do have some, and it’s not as hot as I’d like.  But the flavor is perfect!

ColulaHotSauce

I finally decided, DUH make it myself.

This is a recipe that will be updated as I make new batches and improve the flavor!  It’s an ongoing experiement.

For my first batch

Ingredients

  • 1 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 2+ T of Dried Pequin Peppers (Ground)
  • 1 and half whole Dried Arbol peppers (seeds removed)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 t Garlic Powder
  • 1 T Onion Powder
  • 2 Roma Tomatoes chopped
  • I also added like 1 T of Fresh Onion (I had some scraps lying around) and 1 t of Cilantro (I also had this lying around
  • Salt to Taste

Directions

  1. In a blender combine all ingredients and liquify.  Taste, and add more peppers as desired for heat. Also add salt as desired.

This version is very strong in the vinegar.  Which cholula is, but it def has something missing. It seems like the vinegar taste is too prominent. Its spicier than regular cholula (which is what i want)… but still not unbearable. I will probably do more research to see if someone else has unlocked the cholula mystery. 

Cholula2

