Spicy Lentil Tomato Soup with Spinach and Mushrooms (For National Homemade Soup Day! 2/4/13)

I found this recipe… but changed it quite a bit. Apparently it was national homemade soup day yesterday, so I felt the need to make a soup…obviously

Ingredients

  • 1 can Crushed Tomatoes 
  • 2 – 3 cups Veggie Broth
  • 3/4 bunch of spinach (My pot was simply too small for the rest of it, but you could throw it all in if you have space – I’d add a bit more broth if you do this though)
  • 1/2 cup lentils
  • 1 T (or less) Hot Mustard Powder
  • half cup of chopped Mushrooms (variety of choice)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • Half an Onion, chopped

Directions:

  1. Cook your lentils as directed, strain, and set aside.  You can undercook them slightly since they will finish off in your soup.  In a pot, heat olive oil over medium heat.  Saute and Garlic for about 4 minutes, or until fragrant. 
  2. Add Mushrooms and Veggie Broth, cook for about 5 minutes.
  3. Add Can of Crushed Tomatoes (with juice), lentils, and Mustard Powder.  Cook for 5 – 10 minutes.
  4. Add in spinach, and cook until wilted (about 5 minutes).

I didn’t get a good shot of my soup, so I figured I’d feature my cat in it too 😉

TomatoLentilSpinachSoup

