Easy Frittata with Kale, Spinach, Tomato, Red Bell Pepper, Shallot & Goat Cheese with Homemade Hot Sauce!

This recipe was my inspiration and bones to my recipe.  I changed things up a bit.  I had a bit of Dinosaur Kale lying around I needed to use, I opted for Shallot for taste.  I recommend keeping the Kale in this recipe as it’s flavor goes REALLY well, in fact in the future I might just do all dino Kale. You can throw anything into a frittata, this would be a good recipe if you were looking for a way to use up veggies.

frittata

You need a nice nonstick pan that can cook stovetop then move to the oven. Such as THIS one, which I use.

Ingredients (serves 3) 

  • 7 eggs (This is suitable for a large 12 in pan)
  • Oil
  • 1 Shallot chopped
  • 1 Cup Spinach
  • 1 Cup Kale (I used Dinosaur)
  • 3 Roma Tomatoes sliced into circles
  • 1 Log of Goat Cheese (4 OZ)
  • 1 Red Bell Pepper chopped
  • Herbs (I used Oregano, Pepper & Parsley)

Directions

  1. Preheat Oven to about 400F.
  2. Pepare your egg mixture first. Beat your eggs together with the goat cheese (Crumble the goat cheese). I reserved a bit of the goat cheese to crumble over the top. Add in your herbs to this mixture.
  3. Heat your Skillet drizzled with Oil over Medium Heat. Add Shallot and Bell Pepper and cook for 1 minute.
  4. Add your spinach and Kale, cover and cook until slightly wilted.  About 2 minutes.
  5. Pour over your Egg Mixture and mix around a bit to make sure your egg mixture is even in the pan.  (It looked shallow to me, don’t be alarmed it does puff up more than expected).
  6. Place Tomato slices over the top evenly. Cover and cook until eggs are slightly set (about 2 – 4 minutes).  Crumble goat cheese on top if you saved any.
  7. Place in oven uncovered on 400F until slightly browning on top (About 10 minutes – but keep an eye on it after 5 minutes to ensure it doesn’t burn).
  8. Once it is finished, it should fairly easily slide out of your pan. I topped it with my homemade hot sauce (similar to cholula) recipe which is described here.  The hot sauce takes 1 minute to make and is super easy to prepare while your Frittata is in the oven, and I think it goes perfectly with it.

I like this recipe because it feels like i’m eating a pizza..hah.  I recommend not eating this on a day with light activity as it does have egg & cheese.  This is good for days you’re working out, going on a hike..etc.

