Curried Quinoa and Brown Rice Wraps – Vegan & Gluten Free

I’ve been meaning to blog this one for a while, though something has always come up, and I end up devouring the meal before I can photograph it.  This isn’t my prettiest presentation of it, but it will do, I’m tired of delaying this yummy recipe! This batch of collard greens I bought just happened to be exceptionally hole-y so they weren’t the best to wrap.  Look to ensure your greens aren’t as hole-y as mine, they usually aren’t!

This recipe is super easy, and something I love to do when I’m shorter on time, and want a crowd pleaser.  This recipe got the stamp of approval from the boyfriend and his family. No need for Hungry Man Ingredients, this recipe is jam PACKED and will fill up even the hungriest man.

CurriedQuinoaWraps

Ingredients

  • 2 – 4 large collard green leafs (Depends how large the leafs are, and how packed you make your wraps)
  • ~1.25 C Cooked Brown Rice
  • ~1 C Cooked Quinoa (this recipe used red and not as much rice, but any will work and I recommend half, or getting close to half of rice:quinoa)
  • 2 Cloves Garlic
  • 1 Carrot chopped
  • 1/4 C Peas (mine were frozen)
  • 1/4 C Chopped Radishes, or about 6 large radishes
  • Radish Greens (however much you have from your bunch of radishes)
  • 1/2 inch of Ginger Chopped
  • 1 Stalk Celery, Chopped
  • 1 – 2 T of Curry Paste (I used tikki masala – but any kind will do)
  • 1 T Coconut Milk
  • Oil (any kind)
  • Optional: Spicy Mustard
  • Optional: Any other veggies, think of this like a fried rice that gets wrapped up, pretty much anything can go! Other greens, other veggies, whatever you have lying around will do.  Feel free to omit any veggies you don’t find convenient.

Directions

  1. Heat oil over medium-high heat. Saute Garlic and Ginger until fragrant, about 1 min.
  2. Add in Rice, Quinoa, Carrot, Peas, Radish, Celery, and mix together.  Cook for about 2 minutes.
  3. Reduce heat to medium and add Coconut Milk and Curry Paste, mix together.  Cook for about 5 minutes stirring occasionally.  Reduce heat and simmer until veggies are desired tenderness.  I like my veggies firm so I stopped here.
  4. For Assembly, destem (google this if you’re unfamiliar) the collard green.  Place desired amount into collard green, top with a little Spicy Mustard if you so desire, and wrap!
