Fried CauliRice and Quinoa

 

Inspired by this recipe.  I followed the same basic structure, but used the veggies I had on hand and altered the sauce a bit, oh and made it vegetarian. The portions are a bit large, I made enough to feed 2 boys, myself and a bit of leftovers.  So I’d say is 4 generous servings.

FriedCauiRice

Ingredients

  • 1 Large Cauliflower
  • 1 Large Parsnip
  • Oil
  • 1 C carrots chopped 
  • 1 Medium Onion chopped 
  • 3-5 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 C Frozen Peas
  • 1 C Snow Peas
  • 1 large Kohlrabi, peeled and diced
  • 1 C Quinoa
  • Lime Juice
  • Agave/Maple Syrup
  • Cayenne
  • Tamari or Aminos
  • Raw Apple Cider Vinegar

Directions

  1. I began by cooking the Quinoa in a Rice Cooker. Simultaneously, I used the steaming attachment to cook the Carrots, Snow Peas and Kohlrabi.  But feel free to saute them instead.
  2. While cooking the veggies and quinoa, I was pulsing the Cauliflower and Parsnip together in a food processor until small and grain like.
  3. I used 2 large skillets simultaneously for this recipe. It gets a little convoluted so follow carefully. I heated oil over medium heat for one skillet, and high heat for the other skillet.  To the medium heat skillet I added the Garlic and Onion, to the other I added a layer of cauliflower (about half of the total cauli/parsnip mixture you want high heat here to cook the cauliflower quickly so it doesn’t get soggy).  Let the Cauli/Parsnip mixture brown nicely on one side, avoid tending it too much, but don’t let it burn.  So about 3 – 5 minutes un touched then mix it around, and let it brown further. (Reduce heat on the garlic and onion pan when fragrant). Transfer the Cauli/Parsnip Mixture to the other Skillet that contains the garlic and onion which are now sauteed.  Add in the frozen peas to the full skillet and keep at a low heat.
  4. Re-Oil the empty Skillet and add the rest of the Cauli/Parsnip Mixture, repeating the process.  When finished, Spoon over some of the peas to the new Cauli/Parsnip Pan, to even it out.  Then add the Steamed Veggies and Cooked Quinoa evenly to both skillets.  You should now have two balanced skillets.  Take the heat to about Medium on both skillets, adding a little more oil as needed.
  5. In a bowl on the side, mix about 1 C Braggs/Tamari, 1/2 C Apple Cider Vinegar, 1 – 2 T Lime Juice, 1 T Agave, 1 t Cayenne.  Distribute sauce evenly amongst two skillets and saute. These are rough measurements as I added about half these amounts at first, and felt the dish lacked flavor, so I added more.
  6. Once heated and mixed through, it’s ready to serve!

This recipe isn’t as daunting as it looks, its just a process.  It only becomes complicated due to the sheer size of the portion.

