Vegan Sushi with Tangy Peanut Sauce – Round 2, Fight! Kale/Parsnip/Broccoli Sushi (plus a side of Marinated Bean Sprouts!)

I opted for going a little more traditional by sticking to white rice this time.. I will try brown rice next time, but we have a lot of sticky sushi rice lying around, so I figured why not stick with what we got for now.  So this timeeeee I made a Vegan Sushi with a Tangy Peanut Sauce with a Side of Marinated Bean Sprouts.

VeganSushib

I’ve gotta admit, making sushi is not nearly as hard as it seemed to me in the past.  I’m not sure why I was convinced I could try and make sushi without using two essential necessities… the sharp knife and a bamboo mat.  I tried with a clean towel, and a mediocre knife at best, and was frustrated when I got nothing but squished results… and stopped.  So if you were lame like me, I encourage you, spend 2 dollars on a mat, sharpen your knife and get back on the sushi horse.

Ingredients (Serves 4)

  • 1 C Uncooked White Sushi Rice (or any other grain of choice, brown rice, quinoa, etc)
  • 1  branch from a head of broccoli (probably about 1 C)qqq
  • Parsnip
  • 1/2 C Massaged and Stemmed Kale, broken into smallish pieces
  • About 4 Cups Bean Sprouts, or more!
  • 1 C Roasted Peanut Butter (be sure to check labels, to avoid gross Hydrogenated Oils and Sugars- should just be peanuts!)
  • Tamari Soy Sauce/ Braggs/ Aminos
  • Sesame Seeds, regular or roasted
  • 2 cloves Minced Garlic
  • 1 inch of Ginger Minced, or 2 t of Ginger Powder
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Juice of 1 Lime
  • Water
  • 1 t Agave
  • 5 Sheets of Nori
  • Wasabi (optional)
  • Salt

Directions

  1. Start by preparing your rice.  I made mine the lazy way in a rice cooker, it was plenty sticky!
  2. Meanwhile, prep your fillings and Marinated Bean Sprouts. Chop your broccoli into long skinny pieces as best as possible, do the same with Parsnips and Kale (massaged and stemmed), fillings should resemble fry shapes as much as possible.
  3. In a bowl add your washed bean sprouts.  Then add Garlic, Ginger, about 2 t Soy Sauce, 1/4 C Vinegar (any kind will do, I used apple cider), and sprinkle on Sesame Seeds.  Mix well and let marinade.
  4. Now make your Tangy Peanut Sauce for dipping/drizzling.  In a bowl, combine 1 C Peanut Butter, with about 1/3 C Soy Sauce,  1/3 C Vinegar, 1 t of Agave, Wasabi (as much as desire for heat), Lime Juice, and water as needed to thin.  Taste your mixture and adjust as desired for taste.  I needed to add a bit of water to mine to thin it out.  These measurements are guestimates, as I adjusted and added more as I went along.
  5. When your rice is done, mix in some Vinegar (usually Rice Vinegar, but any will do) and a bit of salt, mix and fold together. Flatten onto your nori sheets into a thin layer, add some marinated bean sprouts, Kale, Broccoli and Parsnip! Then roll up and cut!
  6. Serve with a side of your Marinated Bean Sprouts, and either drizzle on your Peanut Sauce or serve in a side bowl as dipping sauce.
*If you don’t know how to roll sushi go here as at least a rough visual tutorial, as it is too hard to describe the process without visuals.  However, Personally I don’t cut mine ON my bamboo mat, I cut in half once, then place them together and cut 2 or 3 more times.

VeganSushi

