Quinoa & Veggie Salad with a Lemon Dill Yogurt Dressing

Some of my favorite recipes are those that require little to no cooking, but still gives you the rewarding sensation of eating a delicious meal.  Bonus points if its healthy!  Inspired here.  I amped mine up a bit to make it function a little more as a meal by adding Quinoa. This would work really well as a side if you’re trying to feed hungrier individuals.. but it also works as a lighter refreshing lunch.   It’s also a great way to get through some vegetables and prepare a large quantity for a few days worth of lunch.

YogurtVeggieSalad

Ingredients (serves 2 – 3 meal portions)

  • 1 Cucumber Seeds removed & Chopped
  • 1 Head of Broccoli Chopped Small
  • 1 Bell Pepper Chopped (any kind – I went with the cheapest, green)
  • 1 C Cooked Quinoa (I used red, but any will do)
  • 4 – 5 Carrots + greens if you have it
  • 1.5 C Yogurt (Greek or Regular Low Fat)
  • 1 – 2 T Dill (I used freeze dried)
  • 1 t Parsley
  • 1 t Celery Seed
  • 1 t Ground Coriander
  • 1/4 C Lemon Juice
  • Salt to Taste
  • Optional: Apple Cider Vinegar to taste I love acidity in dressings, but it’s not for everyone, taste your dressing and decide if you want to add it at the end

Directions

  1. I put the Yogurt, Lemon & Spices in a large bowl first and mixed that together first, then I simply threw in all the chopped veggies and the Quinoa in and mixed well until combined!
  2. Serve Chilled.  Or you can serve it with the quinoa right out of the cooker and have it a little warm which was nice.

I didn’t think about this until I was writing it, but I think celery would be super delicious in this.

