Vegetarian Hot & Sour Soup Version 5.0 (Contains Tahini & Egg)

I could probably have a spin off blog just Hot & Sour Soups… I cook them all the time, they’re super easy, really flavorful and always hit the spot (especially if your’e cold or feeling under the weather).  This is most similar to a Tom Kha Gai but is pretty far from the traditional.  I didn’t have access to any Chili Sauce, Sriracha or Thai Chilis so I had to work with what I could find.  Tahini also adds a nice little creaminess and a unique flavor.

Ingredients

  • 1 Can Coconut Milk
  • 6 C Vegetable Broth (Use homemade for the best possible taste)
  • 1 Inch of Ginger (half minced, half just sliced skin intact)
  • 3 – 4 Cloves Garlic Minced
  • 5 Green Onions Chopped
  • Sprouted Beans
  • 1 C Cooked Brown Rice
  • 1 Large Jalapeno + Seeds, ground up together (or blended)
  • 1 T Red Pepper Flakes
  • 2 T Tamari
  • Salt
  • 1 – 2 T Tahini
  • Apple Cider Vinegar (to taste, I used about 3 T)
  • Lemon (to taste I like mine sour so I used about 3+ T)
  • 2 Egg Whites (Optional, I had some leftover from a previous recipe)

Directions

  1. Start by heating Oil over medium heat in a large pot.  Add your Garlic, the minced garlic and about 3/4 of your chopped Green Onions (reserve some for topping at the end) and slowly brown.  Add in your Vegetable Broth and ginger slices and cover until Boiling.  
  2. While I waited for that to come to a boil I smashed up a jalapeno + seeds into a paste in a mortar and pestle.. if you don’t have one, just chopped it up slightly and blend.
  3. Once boiling, reduce to a simmer and add in your coconut milk, Tahini, Vinegar, Lemon, Tamari and Jalapeno paste.  Simmer for about 10 – 15 minutes.
  4. Taste and adjust as needed.  Add Salt and red pepper flakes here. If you’re adding egg, bring back to a rolling boil and being stirring quickly.  Add the egg in slowly while stirring to cook and allow the egg to fluff out. Reduce and let simmer for about 5 minutes longer.
  5. For serving, place a bit of brown rice at the bottom of a bowl, then add your soup, top with Sprouted Beans and More Green Onions.

HotSourEggSoup

 

