Sweet Potato Gnocchi – and a test of patience……with Various Sauces! Spicy Wasabi Tofu – Lemon Miso Tahini with Sage – Hot Honey Mustard – Spicy Marinara

I don’t know that I would consider this a recipe, in fact no I don’t. Take this post as more of a word of warning, a cautionary tale if you will…

I was inspired to make gnocchi when I saw it in a Gluten Free Cookbook that was given to me by my brother.  The list of ingredients was small, and some of them I already had, so I figured how hard could this be!! Not wanting to use unhealthy white potatoes, I opted for Sweet Potatoes, looked around at recipes to see if the change in potato type affected the recipe, it didn’t seem to much.

Here’s the catch, the recipe I looked at called for 2 lbs potato, 2 C Rice Flour, 1/2 C Tapioca Flour and 2 teaspoons xantham gum.  I found plenty of recipes that did NOT use xantham, so I didn’t get it. I also found recipes that used mixtures of OTHER Flours, including coconut (which I had).  I wanted to make a big batch (ambitious of me) so I could freeze a bunch….  then I realized doing so, meant I didn’t have enough Rice Flour.  However, I figured I could just add more Coconut Flour & Tapioca Flour….

I’m not sure if Rice Flour has some sort of strong importance in the recipe, but regardless this didn’t work that well.

I boiled my potatoes, but I was recommended from a friend to bake them, to reduce moisture in the potatoes.

However, I didn’t find them inedible, just… not my best work.

The FIRST round, I didn’t serve them as a traditional pasta covered with a sauce, but rather as little dumplings for dipping into various sauces.

Note: When I let the dough chill overnight, it became much easier to work with, the small ball shapes I was able to create with the dough were much more delicious the second time through! Also, carefully adding the balls to the water as well as fishing them out as they rise to the surface made for ideal texture.

Ingredients for Spicy Wasabi Tofu Sauce

  • Less than 1/4 Block of Tofu
  • 1 T Lemon Juice (or more as desired for taste)
  • Water
  • 1 T Dill
  • Wasabi – to taste
  • EVOO

Ingredients for Lemon Miso Tahini with Sage Sauce

  • 1/4 C Tahini
  • Water (as needed to thin)
  • 1 T Lemon
  • 2 t Miso
  • 1 T Sage

Ingredients for Hot Honey Mustard

  • Hot Mustard Powder
  • Spicy Mustard (any kind)
  • Honey
  • 1 T Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Water (as needed to thin)

Directions for Sauces

  1. Simply combine each of the ingredients for the sauces into separate small bowls.  I served this meal family style for everyone to dip into.

Homemade Spicy Marinara (makes sauce for about 4 – 6 servings)

  • 1 Large 28 oz Can of Muir Glen Crushed Tomatoes with Basil (Buying Quality Tomatos is vital, don’t skimp on this part, it makes or breaks the Marinara)
  • Half an Onion Chopped
  • 1 6oz Can Tomato Paste
  • Water
  • 2 Cloves Garlic
  • 2 T Italian Spices
  • 2 T Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1 t Cayenne
  • 1/2 T Agave
  • EVOO

Directions for Homemade Marinara

  1. Coat a large brimmed pan (or large sauce pot) with EVOO over medium heat, add Onion and cook for 2 minutes.
  2. Add Garlic and cook for 2 – 3 minutes, stirring to avoid burning.
  3. Once Cooked, Add Garlic and Onion to a blender along with the can of tomato paste and about a can and a half full of water.  (You can skip this step if you don’t mind chunky sauce, but I like it all mixed together). Blend
  4. Add Back into Pan along with Can of Crushed Tomatos.  Add your spices and Agave. Turn to medium heat and stir constantly for a few minutes to avoid popping.  Then cover and reduce heat to low and let simmer for about 15 – 20 minutes.  Stir and add water as needed to reach desired consistency.  Then it’s ready for serving!

MarinaraGnocchi

 

^^You’re seeing this topped with goat cheese!! MMMMM^^

Ingredients for Sweet Potato Gnocchi (serves like a million – why did I make so much?!)

Incase you didn’t read above, I don’t recommend following this recipe, unless you want to know what not to do when making Gnocchi 

  • 4 lbs of Sweet Potatoes Peeled and boiled until tender
  • 3 C Rice Flour
  • 2 C Tapioca Flour
  • 1 C Coconut Flour

Directions

  1. Mash the sweet potatoes into a large bowl and let cool COMPLETELY! No really, don’t be impatient like me, you will fail, and you will be really mad.
  2. Mix in your flours to the Sweet Potato Mixture.  I started with these amounts, then added more as needed to try and reach a doughy texture.  I’ll be honest, it never really reached a good dough texture, but I didn’t want to put any more Flour in, in fear it would become way too startchy/flour tasting.
  3. Roll into little balls (REALLY small like half inch diameter!) onto wax paper, stack layers of wax paper as needed and freeze.  (You can also cook them right away if you prefer).  Store surplus in a freezer bag.
  4. When ready to cook, bring water to a rapid boil, carefully toss in your gnocchi and remove promptly when they rise to the top, overcooking will lead to even MUSHIER dough balls -_-, can you tell I had a rough time with this one?!
  5. Carefully drain (try not to smash them all together, they’re pretty tender!) and….serve…if you dare.  To drain them, I found the BEST way is to use a slotted spoon and remove them promptly as they rise to the top and put them in a bowl carefully.

SweetPotatoGnocchi

