Indian Spiced Lemon Sticky Rice

Despite the fact I was absolutely not going for a sticky rice.  That is what happened. From time to time, my brain enters into deep space while I cook and I don’t pay attention to what I’m doing.  I’m guessing I added too much water while I was out on a mind journey.

Regardless, I like the way it turned out – and it ended up working better than if I had not over saturated the rice.  I served it with my Indian Fusion 3 Bean Trio on top of Garbanzo Bean ‘Naan’ garnished with shredded coconut (Gluten Free – Vegan).  Which was a little on the dry side, so this moist rice benefited the dish.

This is a super simple one, and a great way to flavor rice without adding anything unhealthy.  In fact Turmeric & Lemon are often touted for their great health benefits.

IndianSpicedLemonStickyRice

Ingredients

  • 1 C Brown Rice
  • ~2.5 C Water
  • 1 – 3 T Lemon Juice (Depending on how much you love lemony flavor!)
  • .5 T Turmeric
  • .5 T Curry Powder
  • 1 t Garam Masala
  • Salt & Pepper to taste.

Directions

  1. Cook your Rice as instructed on the package, but increase the water content slightly to make it sticky.
  2. Once finished, Combine Rice with Lemon Juice (add less first – then taste and add more to your liking), Turmeric, Garam Masala, Curry Powder, Salt & Pepper.  Taste and Add more seasonings if desired!
  3. Serve!
