French Onion Soup with an Herb & ‘Cheese’ Crusted Flat Bread (All Vegan & Gluten Free)

As promised!  This recipe is delicious, it’s a little intensely rich for me to eat much of it.  A small bowl and I’m stuffed and satisfied for hours.

During the creation I was horribly disappointed.  I was tasting as I went, and it just tasted so bland and I couldn’t figure out what I was missing. I thought that perhaps butter is crucial to it’s richness… So I looked up a regular Onion Soup Recipe one more time and realized it was the addition of some sort of Wine!  I didn’t have wine, and wine is for drinking anyway 😉 (and so I’ve recently learned, often not vegan?) so I just used Vinegar.

Doing this convinced me that my sneaking suspicion that vinegar improves everything, was in fact, correct.

OnionSoup&Bread

Ingredients (Serves 2 Big Bowls)

  • 1.5 T Tahini
  • Oil of Choice (Usually French Onion Soup has Vegetable Oil – but I used EVOO as always)
  • 3 small Yellow Onions, thinly sliced
  • 4 Cloves Garlic Minced (tone this down if you’re not garlic crazy, but who isn’t)
  • 5 – 6 C Vegetable Broth
  • Salt (to taste)
  • Thyme
  • Rosemary
  • 1 – 2 t Balsamic Vinegar
  • 2 T Garbanzo Bean Flour
  • 2 T Water (or a tad more)
  • 1 – 2 T Nutritional Yeast
  • 2 t Raw Apple Cider Vinegar (taste and add more vinegar if desired)

Directions

  1. In a large pot bring a thin layer of Oil to Medium Heat.  Add your sliced onions and 3 of your 4 Garlic Cloves and lightly saute for about 1 minute, stirring.  Then add your Tahini and mix well to combine and coat everything.  Add a bit more oil if needed and cover on low heat for about 15 minutes, stirring every so often.
  2. Meanwhile, prepare the batter for your flatbread.  This amount will make two little flat breads, one for each soup! Mix your Garbanzo Bean Flour & Water along with a dash of salt and 1 clove garlic.  Wait to cook this until your soup is closer to being done, so that they can be served together warm.
  3. After 15 minutes or so, add in your vegetable broth and bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Add in about 2 t Thyme, bit of Salt, Both Vinegars, and about 1 T Nutritional Yeast and Simmer for 10 more minutes covered.
  4. When your soup is almost ready, begin heating a non-stick skillet over medium/high heat.  Add your Bread Batter to the hot Pan and reduce the heat to medium.  Add bit of Thyme, Nutritional Yeast, Rosemary and Salt to the top while the bottom is cooking.  Also, I fished out a few onion slices from my simmering soup and put those on top as well!  After about 2 – 3 minutes flip your bread and cook until crisping, about another 2 – 3 minutes. Repeat for 2nd flat bread, or use a big pan and do both at the same time.
  5. Taste your soup and adjust any seasonings as needed.  Serve with flat bread soaking in the soup and enjoy!

OnionSoupBread2

