Nut Milk – with Brazil Nuts, Walnuts, Almonds & Cashews

So I finally caved and bought a cheese-cloth.  I’m not sure why “caving” needed to happen, as it is less than 3 dollars, but for some reason, I was just avoiding it.

I had a nut-milk from a raw restaurant a long time back in Los Angeles that blew my mind and changed my perception of what a nut milk could truly be. Real nutmilk is so much more than store bought varieties.  In my opinion, the function a lot more as a dessert, than anything else however, as they are high in calories & fat.  I really wouldn’t recommend downing a glass with no regard. Regardless of how *health* everything in it is.

NOTE: All nuts should be raw.  Also, reserve your Nut Pulp for a later recipe.  It makes a delicious Raw Cookie Dough 🙂 Click Here to Check it out!

CookdoughBalls

(Yep that is the raw cookie dough you’re going to make right after this 🙂 )

Ingredients

  • Brazil Nuts
  • Walnuts
  • Almonds (don’t skimp on quality here, for some reason cheaper Almond Varietes, even if claimed to be raw, won’t peel well at all, and it will create a headache for you)
  • Cashews
  • Water
  • Vanilla Beans (I used 3 pods)
  • Dates (I used 6)
  • Honey
  • Optional: Cinnamon

Directions

  1. Soak your nuts and dates in filtered water overnight.  Soak the Dates and the Almonds Separate, but you can combine the others if you’d like.
  2. 24 Hour later remove your nuts and rinse them. Peel the skins from the almonds by giving them a good squeeze. (Yea I said it, give th ose nuts a squeeze!!)
  3. Place everything in a high powered blender or food processor (I used a food processor and it worked fine).  Add in few cups of water.  I had roughly 2 or 3 cups of nuts (maybe even a little more).  Just add water Slowly, you can always thin out later, but don’t over dilute. For that amount of nuts you’d need quite a few cups of water (like 6).
  4. Add in your Vanilla Beans, Dates and Honey (as much as desired for taste).
  5. Blend well, taste and adjust flavor as desired.
  6. Strain using a cheesecloth. (Reserve the pulp for a later recipe!)  I strain over a large funnel into glass jars, as shown.
  7. Refrigerate and enjoy! (I think it tastes best after it’s been cooled for several hours).

NutMilk

