Unemployment Captains Log Day 4, Benihana’s (Spicy) Ginger Salad Dressing

Spirits are high, the crew has a profound level of joy from all the laziness, and momma is happy because she gets to cook 😀

Starting a new job in February, but until then, expect to see new recipes your way 🙂 If you don’t, someone send help, because the laziness has surely drowned me.

Now, I can’t say that I’ve ever been to Benihana’s….but according to the internet, his sauce tastes something along the lines of what I’ve created.  I was perusing the internet for new salad dressing recipes when I came upon this.  I didn’t have all of the fresh ingredients on hand, so some of them are in their spice form. I also hate the idea of using ketchup so I subbed it for Garlic Chili Sauce (Rooster).  Feel free to keep to the fresh ingredients if you have them on hand, but using the spices was a great alternative here!

BenihanaGingerDressing

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 – 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Oil of Choice – I used EVOO
  • 3 T’s rice wine vinegar
  • 1 T water
  • .75 inch of Grated Ginger
  • 1 t Celery Seed
  • 1 T soy sauce (Tamari)
  • 1 T Garlic Chili Sauce (Rooster Brand) This will be spicy, you may want less if you’re sensitive to spice.
  • Sweetener of Choice (I used about 1 T Honey)
  • 1  lemon juiced
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 t Sesame Seeds

Directions

  1. Add as much Oil to this mixture as you feel comfortable with.  Some people are gung-ho Oil, some are not, do what suits you, it doesn’t matter.  Combine all ingredients in a blender/bullet and process.
  2. Taste and adjust seasonings as you’d like.  After tasting, I added a bit more celery seed and water.

Serve over a salad of your choice and enjoy!

