Healthy Vegan Pad Thai with Sweet Potato Noodles

This recipes calls for a spiralizer – if you do not own one, but are gluten free or just trying to find ways to reduce your wheat intake, I highly suggest snagging one.  They’re not super expensive – they work wonderful and they open up a whole new range of extremely healthy recipe alternatives to noodles.  Some people use hand slicers with the Julienne blade, which I would not have patience for – but this method is fairly quick and utilizes 90% of the vegetable.  Personally when I’m grating something I get to a point where I can’t go much further, and I hate wasting!

In other news: I’m obsessed with pad thai  – I make pretty much anything I can get my hands on, into a pad thai inspired dish.  This version is closer to home than some others I have made; subbing out starchy rice based noodles for sweet potato noodles is a major increase in the health department.  So when you eat a giant bowl of it – you can feel much less guilty 🙂 Everyone knows you can’t eat just a little bit of pad thai.

If you have a spiralizer – this recipe is a really quick and easy go to – with just a little prep – it’s a fairly simple recipe to throw together in under 30 minutes.

Note: If you want to make this raw – omit any cooking – and ensure your ingredients (such as peanut butter & agave) are fully raw – I’ve made a raw version before and it tastes perfectly fine.  Personally I prefer it to be at least gently warmed.

VeganPadThai

Ingredients for Base – Serves 4

  • 4 Sweet Potatoes (for spiralizing – make sure to pick straight – medium thickness sweet potatoes, for optimum spiralizing)
  • 3 – 4 Peppers – Any Peppers (spicy or mild) will do – I used Red Fresno Peppers Chopped
  • 2 Green Onions thinly sliced
  • 1 C Cabbage Chopped Roughly (Or about 1/4 of a head – or however much you want…)
  • Peanuts Chopped (optional garnish – you can omit)

Pad Thai Sauce
(I totally eyeball this when making it – so some adjustments may be in order)

  • 2 T Peanut Butter – find a natural variety – without any added sugar
  • 2 T Rice Vinegar
  • About an Inch of Grated Ginger
  • 1 T Tamari Soy Sauce
  • Water
  • Oil of preference – anything will work here, peanut, sesame, olive, etc
  • 1 T Agave (or sweetener of choice)
  • 2 – 3 Limes Juiced
  • Optional for Spice – Chili Garlic Sauce
  • Salt to taste

Directions

  1. Spiralize your Sweet Potatoes and Set Aside. Chop all your veggies, and the peanuts and set aside.
  2. Mix together all ingredients for the Pad Thai Sauce (Except water).  Mix well until the Peanut Butter is well mixed in and no longer chunky.  Taste and add water as desired to dilute.  I personally like a tangy and spicy Pad Thai Sauce so I usually add a bit more Rice Vinegar and Lime Juice.  If you make it too tangy for your preference – add more agave and peanut butter to sweeten it.
  3. Heat Skillet over Medium Heat with a bit of Oil (Any will be fine).  Add in The Sweet Potato Noodles and Sauce and mix well to combine – Heat for just a few minutes. Noodles will become bright orange and become slightly limp.  Don’t over cook.
  4. Remove from pan and place in large bowl – mix in the rest of your veggies, top with chopped peanuts and serve!
