Tom Kha Gai Inspired Thai Wraps Stuffed with Quinoa & Sweet Potato Noodles – Vegan & Gluten Free

Tom Kha Gai is probably one of my all time favorite soups on EARTH – the blend of lemon, spicy, savory, coconut just make it an irresistible dish. I was racking my brain today to cook something that WASN’T a soup – seeing as it was almost 80 – and I just wasn’t in the mood for soup – not to mention I’ve made Tom Kha Gai more times than I know how to count.

I’ve also become a bike commuter (yay!) so my trips around town in my car have become less frequent – so I try and pick up as many random fresh ingredients as possible and just… make them work, so to speak, when the time comes.  Usually – I hate this method – I really like to plan what I need, and get only that.  My tastes and cravings change so rapidly that buying random ingredients is always a gamble, and the only thing I hate more than that, is wasting fresh food.

So for the sake of biking – I’ve sucked it up – and just started buying up what I can carry at the time and going with whatever it is I’ve got.

Today it was Sweet Potatoes, Some leftover Coconut Milk and a few lemons. I biked to the store and stocked up on some new stuff – and created this concoction – which if I do say so myself,  came out quite well – it will def be a kitchen repeat.

It was simple, quick, healthy AND Delicious!!

LettuceWrapTomKha

Ingredients (Makes about 8 – 10 Wraps – serves 4)

  • Something to wrap – I used Savoy Cabbage
  • ~1.5 C Cooked Quinoa
  • Whites of One Leek Sliced Thin
  • ~.5 C Green Peas
  • 4 – 5 Cloves of Minced Garlic
  • .5 T Fresh Grated Ginger – or Powdered Ginger – I just used a few shakes (I lazied out on this one – and it worked fine- but I always recommend fresh ginger)
  • ~1 T Tamari Soy Sauce
  • Half a Can of Light Coconut Milk
  • Juice of 2 Lemons
  • Salt to taste
  • Sriracha – for added heat – use as much as you’d like
  • 1 Sweet Potato Spiralized (You can use the slicer on a food processor if you do not have a spiralizer)
  • OPTIONAL: Walnuts for added protein (they also add a nice texture)

Directions

  1. Heat EVOO in a pot over medium heat.  Add in your garlic and Sliced Leek.  Saute and let brown.  Stirring occasionally for about 5 minutes – watching to prevent burning.
  2. Add your peas, ginger and Soy Sauce and cook for another minute. Reduce heat to avoid it burning off the soy sauce too much.
  3. Add in your coconut milk and increase the heat.  As the mixture comes to a light boil, add in your Sweet Potato Noodles and Lemon Juice and cook until the sweet potato has softened – about 4 minutes. 
  4. Finally add in your Quinoa and mix well. Taste – add salt as desired and/or more soy sauce.
  5. Remove the pot from heat and let it cool enough to handle in your wraps.
  6. Spoon mixture into lettuce, add a few walnuts wrap up and serve warm.
  7. Can be wrapped and stored for leftovers.
