Tangy Coconut Tahini Walnut Dip – The Best Dip you will EVER MAKE!! (Vegan & Gluten Free!)

First off, credit goes where credit is due! Inspiration can be found here.  I’m currently out of tahini, but I knew I had a lot of raw sesame seeds at home – so when I found this recipe, I KNEW I had to make it, and nothing was going to stop me.  The combination of flavors sounded amazing, I knew it would be delicious – and it definitely exceeded expectations.

TahiniWalnutDip

Note:  Since I didn’t have tahini, I made a version of it from scratch – so this recipe reflects that.  But you may skip the Roasting of Sesame Seeds and adding oil – and simply use Tahini if you would prefer a quicker version of this dip!  

Uses For the Dip!

  • It amazing with raw veggies.  Ditch the ranch (ick!)
  • Use it as a spread for sandwiches/lettuce wraps
  • Spoon it over cooked veggies
  • Pretty much anything that you want to liven up!

Ingredients 

  • 1/2 C Raw Sesame Seeds
  • 1 large handful of Walnuts
  • EVOO
  • 1/2 – 1 T Low Sodium White Miso Paste
  • 1 T Tamari
  • 1/2 inch of Fresh Ginger, Ground
  • Garlic to preference – I used about 1/2 T Minced
  • Lemon Juice – I like mine tangy – so I used about 3 lemons juiced
  • 1/4 C Light Coconut Milk
  • 2 T Agave (or more to taste)
  • 1 T Sriracha (or more to taste)
  • Optional: Vegetable Broth to thin – if you don’t have this readily available, you can just use water (I just usually have this in large batches in my freezer)
  • Optional: Green Onions

Directions

  1. Heat a pan over medium heat and pour in your sesame seeds. Stir very often for about 10 minutes until they have lightly browned.  Don’t leave unattended or they will burn!
  2. Transfer the roasted sesame seeds to a grinder and grind up into a fine powder. Transfer to a blender or food processor (Or if you have a bullet – switch from grind to the blender).  Add about 1/4 C EVOO and blend.
  3. Add more oil if desired.  Add all of the remaining ingredients into the blender and blend well.
  4. Taste and adjust any ingredients as desired, making it sweeter, or tangier, or nuttier!  Top with Green Onions if desired and serve!
