Spaghetti Squash with Rainbow Chard Pesto, topped with a drizzle of Honey, Green Onions and Pine Nuts

My boyfriends family bought me some cooking ingredients that I rarely buy myself.  One of which includes a giant bag of what I like to call “The Rich Man’s Nut” … most of you know it as the Pine Nut. 🙂

I came home from the Holidays and still had a giant Spaghetti Squash awaiting cooking… so naturally I needed to make a pesto to put all over its naturally spaghetti like strands!

SpaghettiSquashPesto

Ingredients

  • 1 Spaghetti Squash
  • 1 Bunch Organic Rainbow Chard
  • 2 Green Onions Chopped
    (I mention organic because those bunches tend to be much smaller)
  • 1/4 C Fresh Basil (I just grabbed a small handful)
  • 2 Cloves Garlic
  • 1 or 2 small Lemons
  • 1/2 to 1 C Nutritional Yeast
  • Good Quality Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 3/4 to 1 C Pine Nuts
  • Honey for drizzling
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Handful of Raw Pumpkin Seeds (optional)

Directions

  1. Start by popping your Spaghetti Squash into the oven.  I chop mine in half, and cook it for about 30 – 45 mins at 375F.  Once it’s finished, you let it cool and take a fork to pull out the Spaghetti-like strands.  But while thats cooking, prepare your Pesto.
  2. Blanch your Chard by adding the leafs to boiling water for just a moment (until they become a richer green) and then run under cold water.  Remove the tough stem from the center of the leaf and add to the food processor.
  3. Add in the Pine Nuts, Nutritional Yeast (start with less, taste and add more as desired), Juice of 1 or 2 Lemons (I like a more tangy pesto so I add two), 2 Cloves Garlic, Handful of Pumpkin Seeds and Basil.  Pulse a few times.  Then start slowly adding your EVOO until you’ve reached a desired consistency. Taste and adjust your flavors as desired.
  4. To finish, mix the pesto with the warm Spaghetti Squash Noodles, top with Extra Pine Nuts, some Green Onions, Salt & Pepper and a drizzle of Honey.
