Thai Peanut Sauce over Rice and Veggies – easy, quick, weeknight meal.

I think I could live off of thai flavoring for the rest of my life if I had to….

Thai flavoring is easily my go-to I don’t know what I feel like, but I want to eat something rich that I know I will like.

This is also one of my go-to’s when I’m in the tired and don’t want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen mode.  It’s also a good one to make when you don’t want to heat up the house with too much cooking in the oven or on the stove.  Although, right now in texas that’s welcomed…. since it’s so darn cold!

This servers about 4 modest portions, and usually is ready as soon as your rice is done cooking.

VeggiePadThai

Ingredients

  • 1 Crown of Broccoli
  • 1 Large Carrot
  • 1/2 Yellow Onion or 1 small onion
  • 2 Green Onions
  • 1/2 – 1 C Cooked Rice
  • Purple Cabbage
  • Mushrooms (I used cremini)
  • 1 Green Bell Pepper
  • Ingredients for sauce
    • 2 T Peanut Butter
    • Juice of 1 small Lime
    • 1 T Rice Vinegar
    • 1 Inch Grated Ginger
    • 1 T Tamari
    • Honey (or other sweetener of choice) to taste
    • Sriracha Or Chili Paste to taste
    • Water or Veggie Broth as needed to thin
    • Optional: Any nuts or seeds, sometimes I throw in Hemp Seeds, Walnuts, Pecans, sunflower seeds etc etc.  If i do this, I usually add a bit more of the other ingredients too.

Directions

  1. I usually start by getting my rice going and chopping up all my veggies to a desirable size.  Chop veggies smaller if you have a hard time incorporating them into your diet.
  2. For the sauce, simply combine all of the ingredients in a blender.  Taste and adjust flavors as desired.  If you want it more tangy, add more lemon or vinegar… if it’s not sweet enough – add more honey.  I add water last and thin it down to desired thickness.
  3. Heat a pan over medium/high heat and saute the chopped onion until slightly caramelizing, reduce to low/medium heat and add in the mushrooms and cook briefly, until slightly softened, about 5 minutes.  Once finished, move to one side and throw the chopped broccoli in and cover an turn heat off.  This will just slightly cook the broccoli. I like my broccoli to have a rich green color, and be slightly warmed.
  4. If you have a hard time with raw veggies, throw the rest in a warm pan too, just to soften them up a bit, otherwise leave them raw.
  5. For serving simply combine all ingredients on the plate, I usually do rice on bottom, then top with veggies, and green onions on the top, then drizzle the peanut sauce over it, or serve on the side.
