Gluten Free Coconut Flour Muffins – 2 flavors Lemon Ginger Cayenne & Lemon Poppyseed (both with nuts)

I acquired a large bag of organic coconut flour as a gift and I was on a mission to figure out what to do with it.  I don’t usually bake which is how coconut flour seems to be most commonly used… so I began to scour the internet for recipes.  I’m not a huge sweets person… and I try to avoid making too many sweets at home.. so I found a nice balance.

This recipe was my source and inspiration, but I put my own take on them by adjusting the amounts and adding some unique flavors to the mix. I always half the original recipe, i’ve notated my measurements here.

Tips: I’ve tried doing just 2 large eggs when I half the recipe, and while it still works, they were noticeably more crumbly, if you want them to hold up a little more, go for three.  When I go to half this recipe, I just measure by using the Cup size of the original recipe, and simply filling it roughly half way.  It doesn’t half to be perfect.

Makes 4 Large Muffins
Muffins

Ingredients for muffin base

  • 3/8 (half of 3/4) cup of coconut flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • dash of salt
  • 2 – 3 Large Eggs
  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil, melted
  • Sweetener of Choice – amount of choice.  I used honey, a few Tablespoons
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Ingredients for Lemon Ginger Cayenne

  • 2 t Ginger
  • Dash of Cayenne (be careful, I made mine too hot!)
  • 1 T Lemon Juice
  • Optional: Walnuts/Pecans
    LemonGingerCayenneMuffin

Ingredients for Lemon Poppy Seed

  • 1 T Lemon Juice
  • 1/2 T Poppy Seeds
  • Optional Walnuts/Pecans
    LemonPoppySeedMuffin

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
  2. Start by combining all the base ingredients, combine all dry ingredients and mix in the moist ingredients well.  Let the batter sit for about 5 minutes while you prep the rest of your ingredients.
  3. Once your batter has set, divide it into two separate bowls.  Add in one set of flavor ingredients to one, and the other set to the other bowl.  Mix Well.
  4. Grease a Muffin Tin or Muffin Molds and fill them up about 3/4 of the way.
  5. Bake until crisp, about 20 – 30 minutes.
  6. Remove let cool and enjoy!
