Chimi Chutney (Fresh Herb Spread)

This franken spread was the love child of my researching into chimichurri and a mint chutney.

My garden has a giant parsley plant with more parsley than I know what to do with (until now)… and I have an assortment of other herbs to mix together as well – so I just threw things together… and out  came Chimi Chutney.

Why is it called Chimi Chutney? Because my boyfriend makes me name everything, and naming it Parsley, Pine Nut, Garlic, Vinegar, … .. … etc etc spread didn’t have the same ring.

I’ll tell you what I used – but you can use subs depending on what you have available to you.
chimichutney

This recipe is intended for someone who has access to fresh herbs. I don’t recommend using dried herbs (except as noted), as the amounts and flavors won’t translate, but you can surely use it as inspiration

Ingredients

  • 3 Cloves Garlic
  • 2 T High Quality EVOO
  • 1 T Apple Cider Vinegar (Optional: you can just use one vinegar if you want)
  • 1 T Red Wine Vinegar
  • 1/2 T Honey (or more to taste – omit or sub for agave if strict vegan)
  • Salt
  • Generous Handful of Parsley
  • 6 Pineapple Mint Leaves (can use regular mint)
  • 3 Sage Leaves
  • 8 Basil Leaves (small handful)
  • 1 small sprig Oregano
  • ~1/2 C Pine Nuts (or other nuts as you have available – I would recommend Walnut, Pecans, Cashews, Almonds, in that order)
  • Pinch of Curry (I have a curry plant – you can sub a few dashes of dried curry powder here)
  • Salt
  • Water as needed to thin

Directions

  1. Simply blend up all ingredients! Adding water last as needed to help aid in mixing.
  2. Taste and adjust anything as desired – it was a little too tart at first for me, so I added some pine nuts and a little honey.  Salt is critical from finishing off the spread and bringing out all the rich flavors, so don’t ignore it!

chimichutney2

If you don’t have an herb garden – I highly recommend starting one. It may not save me money, since I wouldn’t pay the money to buy fresh herbs often as it is …. but for pretty cheap, now I have access to tons of fresh herbs that I can experiment with all the time!  Look into gardening from scraps of food – another great way to save money and start a garden (thats how I get all my green onions)!

