Jicama, Corn & Cabbage Salad with a Citrus Dressing

It’s been a while.  My once very adventurous self became a little complacent in the kitchen.

This isn’t a bad thing, just a way of day to day life. Cooking up similar, delicious meals on a nightly basis is just the way most nights need to go. I can’t spend hours in the kitchen creating new recipes everyday – but it felt good to do it today.

Oddly enough – despite the endless amounts of online recipes and beautiful galleries of food… what got me cooking today was actually an old gluten-free cookbook.  Given to me by my brother several years ago – I had gone vegetarian around that time, so I couldn’t cook a lot of the recipes. I reopened it to discover a lot of previously unfound inspiration.

Despite the fact I mentioned not opening it as much when I was vegetarian – this recipe is, ironically, vegetarian 🙂

But you will see non-vegetarian items coming soon (I’ll talk more about this later)….

**TIP: Despite how annoying working with fresh corn can be – I’d highly encourage it. This recipe hinges on the freshness of the ingredients and frozen corn just won’t do it.

JicamaCornSalad-2

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Large Jicama chopped small
  • 2 Heads of Corn (remove kernels from head and blanche)
  • Quarter or Half of a Cabbage (Purple) thinly sliced
  • Juice of 2 Limes
  • Juice of 1 Lemon
  • 1 Tablespoon Dijon Mustard
  • Salt (to taste – pinch or two)
  • 1 Tablespoon Honey (or sweetener of choice)
  • 1 large handful of cilantro chopped fine

DIRECTIONS

  1. First I removed the corn from the head, blanched in boiling water for about 5 minutes, then ran under cold water to stop the cooking.
  2. Toss the corn into a bowl along with the chopped Jicama, sliced Cabbage and chopped Cilantro.
  3. In a blender or bowl, combine Lime & Lemon Juice, Mustard, Honey and Salt to make your citrus dressing.
  4. Add the citrus dressing to the salad bowl and combine.
  5. Let sit at least a few hours.
  6. Serve cold.

JicamaCornSalad

