Wasabi Roasted Brussel Sprouts, Garlic, Onion & Chickpeas with a Sweet & Spicy Citrus Coconut Sauce

I’ve made this recipe again since the first time around and snapped a better photo 🙂

WasabiBrussels

Sometimes I make things, with so many different flavors, I truly don’t know what to call it, but all the flavors feel SO important, I don’t want to leave them out of the name.  Hence the longest name for a recipe, ever.

I’ve been on a Spicy, Wasabi Kick lately, and have been brainstorming new ways to use it.  I’ve also being eyeing Brussel Sprouts for a while.  I’ve never cooked with them, but I’ve tasted them often.  They have a rich leafy flavor and texture, that I wanted to really do something new with. So I entered the kitchen like a mad scientist, and this was the result….this recipe is actually pretty easy despite the amount of ingredients.

Ingredients (2 large portions)

  • 1 lb of Brussel Sprouts, trimmed, and cut in half
  • A cup of Coconut Milk
  • 1/2 a can of Chickpeas/Garbanzo Beans
  • 1 lemon
  • 1/2 T of Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 T Hot Mustard Powder (if you’re sensitive to heat, reduce this to half) + more for sauce.
  • 1/2 – 1 T Wasabi Powder + more for sauce
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 Onion, chopped
  • 5 cloves of garlic, sliced
  • Water
  • 1 T Brown Rice Flour (or other thickener)
  • 1 cup Cooked Rice (optional – you don’t need it over rice, but I wanted to make it a bigger meal)
  • Salt
  • 1 t Cilantro (optional)
  • 1 t liquid stevia, or other sweetener (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400F.  Line a pan with foil and grease with oil.  Pile on the Brussel Sprouts, the onion, garlic and garbanzo beans.
  2. In a small bowl, mix Rice Flour, Hot Mustard Powder, and Wasabi Powder.  Add Apple Cider Vinegar and water as needed to create a watery sauce that you’ll drizzle over your veggies.
  3. Spoon the mixture over the veggies, salt, and drizzle with evoo and mix up to create a nice coat over the veggies.
  4. Place in the oven for about 30 – 40 minutes or until you notice the Brussel Sprouts starting to brown a bit on the outsides, and the onions caramelize. I wouldn’t worry too much about burning, the darker they get they tastier they get (in my opinion).
  5. While roasting, prepare your sauce.  Combine the Juice of 1 lemon, Apple Cider Vinegar, Cilantro, Coconut Milk, 1/2 t wasabi powder and 1/2 t of mustard powder.  (I added a bit of sweetener here too, but I do not think it’s necessary, it adds a nice balance to the sauce though)
  6. When complete, place veggies over rice, and drizzle sauce over. Enjoy!!

I know this combination SOUNDS odd, but if you could only taste it i’d make you a believer.

WasabiBSRice