Baked Kohlrabi Fries

Incase you didn’t know….

This is a Kohlrabi

I live with 3 guys now, 2 of which I intend to cook for.  1 of these guys gets a weekly box of organic local veggies delivered to the house, and gave me just one stipulation… I can use them as long as I make a portion of food for him.  So obviously I am going to take full advantage of these amazing veggies!! In his box there were two large purple root veggies.  I had never seen it before and had no Idea what it even was… so I googled “purple root vegetable” and it came right up! From research online I found that it relates to Cauliflower and Broccoli the most… oddly enough.  The taste is familiar but not something I can put my finger on, it is kind of like a turnip raw.  I wanted to try something very basic to get a better understanding of the flavor of this veggie.

Ingredients

  • Kohlrabi (as many as you desire! They’re small they don’t yield a ton)
  • Oil
  • Salt

Directions

  1. Set the Oven to Broil and let it heat up.  Meanwhile, peel the Kohlrabi (I did this easily with a veggie/potato peeler).  
  2. Cut into fry sized pieces.
  3. Toss in olive oil and a bit of salt, go easy on the salt, my first batch was too salty, the Kohlrabi will stand out enough.
  4. Place on greased baking sheet in a single spread out layer.
  5. Cook for 5 – 10 minutes then toss around the fries to generally flip them (You can flip them each individually, but I found that tedious). Just keep an eye on them.  Once one side is browned flip it and cook for about 5 more minutes.
  6. Let cool for a few minutes, and enjoy!

KohlrabiFries