Homemade Hot Sauce Recipe (Similar to Cholula) REVAMPED

So of all the different recipes on my blog, my homemade hot sauce recipe reigns supreme.  It gets several hits daily from all over the world!

From this – I gather that a lot of people out there love cholula, and like me, don’t like paying the higher price tag for it.

My post has received a lot of GREAT suggestions over the year and I’ve implemented a few and have decided to repost my new test here!

RETEST 1# This test went alright.  I don’t feel I’m any closer to cholula in taste with my changes.  This round, I opted for a more expensive distilled white vinegar, using celery seed and xantham gum to thicken. 

Conclusion: Xantham Gum is def great if you’re looking for it to be thicker like cholula.  It also helps prevent over use, by making it less runny.  I used Whole Dried Pequin and Arbol peppers.  The color was affected by this – I believe the light color of the internal seeds affects the color, and the taste a bit.  Ideally, it would be better to get at least one of these peppers in powdered form, likely the Pequin.  The pequins are so small, its hard to remove their seeds.  Removing some seeds (which I did from the Arbol) is necessary otherwise you will just have a super hot sauce lacking rich flavor. Celery Seed didn’t seem to make a noticeable difference.  Careful not to over onion the recipe (I think mine is too onion-y). Overall this hot sauce is good – not quite Cholula though – but close!

CholulaUpdate

New Batch Recipe:

  • ~1T Pequin Peppers Whole
  • ~10 – 15 whole Arbol Peppers (Cut Open, As many seeds removed as possible)
  • 1.5 C Distilled White Vinegar
  • 1 C Water
  • 1 T Fresh Garlic
  • 1 T Onion (I used dried flakes)
  • 1/4 T Celery Seed
  • Salt as desired
  • 1g Xantham Gum

Directions

  1. I put the peppers in a bullet blender with the grind attachment on, and blended until it was as fine as the blender would make it.
  2. Next I added the Remaining ingredients to the blender (Except Xantham Gum) and blended well.
  3. I then heated the mixture over low/medium heat (never boil), and stirred in 1g (Or a little over have a tablespoon) of Xantham Gum and then let cool.  The mixture will then thicken.
  4. Once the mixture has cooled completely (let it chill for at least an hour or two in the fridge) taste it, and adjust as needed.
  5. I threw mine back into the blender and added things as needed, this didn’t disrupt the thickness.

I bought a fairly large back of Pequin and Arbol peppers – so don’t think this is my last attempt! Please any suggestions welcome!! I find I’m missing SOMETHING, there is a flavor I just can’t quite match.